View from the Boundary!
The Ex- Chairman’s Diary of Oundle Town’s Season

Bank Holiday Weekend

Another week gone and another weekend to put last weeks personal batting disaster behind me. I’m led to believe by the Saturday 1st XI captain that there may be some members of the club who like other things behind them, but we won’t go into that one !

This next week sees 13 scheduled matches involving OTCC teams and at some point the 100% record must go. I am using poetic licence here as the u15B’s tied a game last week, but still unbeaten!

Saturday sees the 1st XI travelling to play O.N’s in Division 4. Captain ‘Shambles’ tells me he is confident of victory with both the Matchams available and our South African contingent fit and healthy.  The 2nd XI have a tough game against Cogenhoe II’s and the captain of today’s game is ‘Zimmer’ Hankins. Riddler is standing as umpire for the 1stXI. Riddler’s Tiddler’s need renaming but my use of assonance only came up with something rude to rhyme with Hanks, so I’ll leave that one there! However, again the team ranges from the  young and  entusiastic to the decrepid and geriatric. A nicely balanced side me thinks!

The Sunday 1st XI have a big game this week, but then every week is a big gamne in the top Division. Good Luck chaps, I don’t think it will be as easy as last week!

I’m off to Normandy tomorrow where I shall be fighting them on the beaches and showing the frogs what rules are about! Cos’ as you know , if we didn’t have rules where would we be! FRANCE! So, in the words of that regal frenchman Arsene Wenger, “Merde il pluit and Mange Tout!”

Have a good weekend all you Badgers!

No Responses to “Bank Holiday Weekend”

Leave a comment